When I was a child
My mama tucked me into bed
We said a prayer for my Daddy
Brothers, sisters
Grandpa, granny.
Hugs and kisses
Close your eyes
Leave the light on
In the hall
Sweet dreams,
Sweet dreams,
Goodnight.

How can I stand by
And watch the world
Go to pieces
See the faces of the
Millions crying,
Helpless in their need?

How can I stand by
And see you standing
In a doorway,
Homeless, nameless
And forgotten by the
Millions
Yes, indeed.
.
.
.
.
.
I wrote this song when the news of the horrific genocide in Rwanda began to surface. The invasion of Kuwait, this terror, and the ever increasing aggression of the US, created in me a feeling of despair and powerlessness. In my own city, many still are homeless and struggle to survive in our cold winters. I couldn’t then, and still cannot reconcile the imbalance of wealth and safety. This photo was taken during the official visit of US Rep. Frank Wolf [Public domain], and resides on Wikimedia Commons.
.
.
.
© WhatHabit Co. and Words For Leaving, 2010 to 201. All rights reserved.